Home > Sports > Join Up Before Obama Comes For Your Guns!

Join Up Before Obama Comes For Your Guns!

Did I get your attention?

Teams are still available. Show off your skill and manage your own team!

Join Here: http://fantasy.nfl.com/registration/privateleaguejoin…
League ID: 3507730
League Password: football

C’mon, you know you want to 🙂

  1. Sedate Me
    August 28, 2015 at 7:19 pm

    Charles Barkley is the last basketball player I really liked. One of my favourite Charles Barkley quotes is

    “Fantasy sports is for straight-up losers!”

    He went on to explain it very well. But I was laughing too hard 🙂

    Like

  2. Sedate Me
    August 29, 2015 at 5:50 pm

    I used to do Fantasy Sports thing back when I was young, naive and still gave a shit about sports. I was pretty good, too. I finished 20th of 10,000 in my city paper NHL competition once, even though I missed a “trade deadline” and was stuck with a couple of injured players…But then I grew up & got a life. 🙂

    The Barkley comment was from about 20 years ago. But if I recall, Barkley had a couple major objections… which make a lot of sense (Warning very loose quotes ahead)

    1) It unrealistically reduces team success to one or two individuals. “Life isn’t like that and neither is sports.” Fantasy Sports is built upon the premise that Player X is completely responsible for his own success. It over-glorifies the “star” running back when he’s entirely dependant on his offensive line. Slap that guy on a team with a lousy O-line, or a passing team, and he runs for under 50yds a game. Meanwhile, his old backup gains just as many yards as he used to.

    Barkley said a big problem with today’s sport is that people expect that you can just trade players & instantly get the same results they had elsewhere. Fantasy Sports heightens fan demands for trades and criticism when results don’t materialize.

    “Stats are for losers. Chemistry & team play wins championships. Chemistry takes time to build and every star needs role-players.” (Example given Jordan, Pippen & other Bulls vs under-preforming Olympic Dream Team) “This is why pre-season football sucks so bad. None of these guys have ever played together before.”

    2) It ignores/misrepresents defence, totally ignores coaching and in-the-moment decisions that win/lose games but don’t generate stats.

    3) “It gives stat-obsessed nerds and lazy beer drinkers who never get off the couch the chance to claim those players’ successes for themselves. They get to pretend they could be great general managers when the reality is they wouldn’t even make good ball-boys.”

    I used to love Barkley. He was painfully honest, said whatever the fuck popped into his head, but was still right 90% of the time.

    Like

    • August 29, 2015 at 6:37 pm

      He makes good points, and I’m not going to argue that he’s wrong. However fantasy can also get the casual fan more involved and knowledgable within the sport itself. I got my wife hooked on fantasy football, and she has become quite knowledgable in part due to playing. Like anything, fantasy sports can be a lot of fun if not taken too seriously. There’s nothing wrong with being a stat nerd. Lol

      Like

      • Sedate Me
        August 30, 2015 at 3:31 pm

        The word “wife” and “Fantasy Sports” aren’t often used in the same sentence…unless maybe if “wife” is preceded by an “ex”. Consider yourself lucky.

        Ah, it’s all just good natured ribbin’ about something that used to be all about fun….But you’re definitely right about the line between “fun & too serious”. There certainly is a dark underbelly to this. These days, FAR too many people are taking sports FAR too seriously. (uh-oh…here comes yet another tiresome, unasked for, Sedate Me rant…)

        I remember a time when you just watched the game and enjoyed it for what it was. Maybe you chatted about it with your pals over beers between discussions of sexual conquests and/or “wife grief”. It was all just innocent fun centred around the game itself…great plays, bad reffing, wicked fights (hockey -eh) & whatever. Then you put your “adult hat” back on and went back to being a man.

        But now? Shit! In order to follow a sport, you’re expected to dedicate most your (non) life to it. You don’t just have to watch every game. You’ve got to watch shows filled with endless speculation and criticism. They’re mindless minstrel shows that rarely offer any insight into the sport. Increasingly, hosts talk about what sports celebs are talking about.They are “turduckens” of filler; filler inside of filler crammed into filler. And it’s all SO important to know.

        Thanks to our “good friend” technology, we can now waste all day Loserbooking, Twit Zoning and getting live “vital” updates on every insignificant sport happening buzzed into your pocket every 15 minutes. “Shit, our minor league backup Goalie will miss tonight’s game!” Just when is our “adult hat” on anymore? (Spoiler Alert: The Powers That Be don’t want it on, ever!)

        As Ralph Nader used to say “If we paid X% of the attention to political issues that we dedicate to sports, most of America’s problems would be solved.” Now even Nader is writing about sports. http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/02/26/new-sports-expose/

        If there’s one thing that unequivocally PROVES we take sports WAY too seriously. It’s instant replay rulings. A “missed call” just used to be a natural human error that was just part of the fun. Now, every time there’s a remotely close call, we sit with our hands up our asses for 10+ minutes as 24 different camera angles get played in super slo-mo. Meanwhile, all the momentum and enjoyment is brought to a screeching halt because…this is so fucking important we have to be 1,000% sure! If only the Bush Vs Gore ruling got the attention & scrutiny that the 4th quarter spotting of a ball in a 38 to 3 pre-season NFL game got!!!

        I think Patton Oswalt’s excellent tragi-comedy movie Big Fan really sums up what sports has become to a huge swath of manhood. Yet another thing to occupy our empty lives. Yet another thing that keeps the “adult hats” off of our heads. And like Oswalt’s character, we will take ANY abuse inflicted upon us in exchange for them filling that emptiness.

        I used to be like that, but I just couldn’t take the abuse anymore and left. As previously mentioned, I really only watch football now and just the game itself. I tape it and fast forward through all the ads, pre/halftime/post-game bullshit, (and motherfucking instant replay)…As a result, most games last about ONE hour. I enjoy them for what they are and then I can get on with my life.

        And sometimes I masturbate to the under-centre, triple option, offence….Sorry about that.

        Like

        • August 31, 2015 at 12:17 pm

          We do take our sports far too seriously. I’m no exception. When I watch my favorite teams, I can get pretty piss- OMG! DID YOU CATCH THE SERIES FINALE OF HANNIBAL?

          Like

          • Sedate Me
            August 31, 2015 at 3:19 pm

            1) Going a bit nuts during the actual game is perfectly acceptable as long as:

            – you keep it within legal parameters, noise restrictions and don’t abuse anything or anyone. (See: Superbowl #1 day for domestic violence)

            – you emphasis the positive (great pass!) and keep the negative “ironic”. Being a former lifelong former Toronto Maple Leaf fan requires a PHD in irony. (Great breakaway pass… to the other team. Ironic high 5!

            The key is what you do between games which is to say…nothing…(unless you’re swilling beers with yer buds)

            2) Hannibal…Yes, I saw it on Thursday and tried hard to keep my lips sealed hehe. Other than free healthcare 🙂 , watching Hannibal on Thursday is one of the few benefits left of being a Canadian.

            Not long ago, we used to regularly see Canadian-shot American shows hours, if not days, before Americans. Unfortunately, the American media barons cracked down about 5 years ago. So, that doesn’t happen much anymore. Unless, like with Hannibal, the American network moves the show’s timeslot, or puts it on hiatus.

            Anyway, great stuff…unfortunately my recording cut off 30 seconds early…right when I was getting a wonderful glimpse of dining room cleavage. I just know she did something with that fork…and I think I know what. But don’t tell me, I’m going to fast forward to the end of the NBC airing I also recorded as backup.

            I hope the show comes back, but I doubt it. As I said before, it’s stunning NBC even aired it at all.

            Like

            • August 31, 2015 at 5:49 pm

              I doubt seriously that it will be back. NBC has already cancelled it, and Bryan Fuller couldn’t find any other takers including Hulu, Netflix, and Amazon. It’s a shame: It was one of the most ambitious and creative shows I’ve ever watched. The imagery alone was enough to keep me watching. The superior dialogue and incredible acting was icing on the cake. This will be a series that I’ll relish for years. In fact, I plan on reading the books, watching all the movies, and re-watch the series in the not too distant future.

              Right after football season is over 😉

              Like

    • August 29, 2015 at 6:39 pm

      I love the round mound of rebound! He’s one of my favorite all – time sports personalities!

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

