Home > Sports > Are You Ready For Some Football?

Are You Ready For Some Football?

I know I am. One of the yearly rites of passage in our household is football- and lots of it. Part of that love for the game is my yearly fantasy football league: The Pure Prairie League. If you want to join in on the fun, sign up now! It’s free, and it’s a blast!

Here’s the link:

Join Here: http://fantasy.nfl.com/registration/privateleaguejoin…
League ID: 3507730
League Password: football

I hope to see you there!

Categories: Sports Tags: ,
  1. Sedate Me
    August 28, 2015 at 7:08 pm

    Yes, I’m ready for football.

    Football is about the only pro-sport I can still occasionally watch without slipping into a tirade over how pro-league X ruined the entire sport for me. (Even hockey eh?) The reasons are plenty, but have 3 main sources…

    1) Owners: Greedy corporate criminals who ass rape fans for every penny, rob governments to build stadiums, then slap corporate logos on everything.

    2) Players: Greedy criminal lowlifes who are pampered, entitled, jacked-up-on-drugs and keep demanding more while increasingly phoning it in.

    3) Corporate Media: Greedy corporate criminals who have enabled every abuse from 1 & 2. They used to be professional journalists (See: Munich 72) Now everything is, as Kenny Powers said, “A goddamn minstrel show!” The hyperbole-to-action ratio just keeps increasing. Sports channels air less & less sports and more & more gum-flapping that’s full of pure speculation and pandering to a stupid, macho, audience incapable of thinking about anything other than sports & fake tits.

    I still watch football semi-regularly. But even then, my interest is half assed. I haven’t watched 1 Canadian Football League game this year. (Much better rules than the NFL but has sold out far more.) No NFL team has captured my imagination in over decade. I actually watch to cheer against teams. For example, Buffalo (for screwing Doug Flutie) Philadelphia & NY Jets (for hiring Vick.) In fact, most games I watch, I’m watching in the hope Mike Vick gets paralysed. Or better yet, blinded so that he has to use a “seeing eye” dog. Hopefully, a relative of one of his many victims.

    My favourite football league is the despicably corrupt NCAA football. I watch tiny 3rd tier colleges that haven’t been obscenely corrupted, the military academy teams & Georgia Tech. I LOVE, under-centre, triple-option, football!

    Like

    • August 29, 2015 at 11:45 am

      I love watching triple option teams. It takes me back to the glory days of the Oklahaoma wishbone and Nebraska power I glory days in the 70’s. You never know where the ball is going!

      Like

      • Sedate Me
        August 29, 2015 at 6:58 pm

        Yes, exactly what I love about it! It actually makes the instant replays worth watching.

        Yeah, Nebraska totally fucked themselves by running from their running game. They’ve completely lost their identity and, despite having top level players, have been spinning their wheels ever since. Nebraska was always about “This is what we’re going to do & you can’t stop us…Oh, finally think you stopped me? Nope, I pitched it to that other guy. Ha-ha!”

        Ten passes a game, but 3 were for wide open touchdowns!

        Nebraska was the last major college to drop the option. Generations grew up with it, so it’s not like it’s unfamiliar to fans or Nebraska staff. The playing field is named after coach Osbourne for cryin out loud! They didn’t do it because he lost all the time!

        And they’ve still got so much clout. Imagine Navy’s offence played by a team with Nebraska’s power to draw talent. Navy has proven you can take on the big boys and score quickly, even with 3rd rate talent. A depthless team like Navy needs their QB, but who cares if Nebraska loses 2-3 QBs or RBs a season to injury? “Next up!!!”

        Nebraska just outsmarted themselves with too much balance & complexity. Drop the high-risk, obvious, hit & miss shotgun bullshit. They should go back to the steady & stable gainer, the Power I. All you need is meaty run-orientated line-men, running backs and mobile QBs. Ram it down the other team’s throat and mix in some play-action & option. Even just 1/3 of plays being “option variants” would skull-fuck half the teams they play. And a successful Power I just murders opposition defences and kills clock like there’s no tomorrow.

        (NOTES: Little Louisiana Tech (?) occasionally runs a version of the 70’s “Texas T”. A couple years back, Army absolutely murdered a team with a pure wishbone they switched to because of a snowstorm.)

        Gee, I guess I am ready for football…just the right kind.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

