Home > Uncategorized > A Scene From My Old Kentucky Home

A Scene From My Old Kentucky Home

Ah, Kentucky. The home of horses, bluegrass, rolling foothills and majestic mountains. Oh, it’s also home to stuff like this:                                                        

  
Cool scenery bro. Just how old are those televisions? 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Sedate Me
    July 13, 2015 at 3:55 pm

    I’m no expert (and the photo is from behind) but I’d say those TV’s are 2000-ish Sonys. I think the one on the left is identical to one I purchased then and the one on the right might be my old 2nd TV. Great TVs. They still work and HDTV cable works well on them. TVs don’t break down in pairs, so odds are VERY good that at least one of those TVs works.

    In our disposable society, everyone has been programmed to mindlessly run to the store and ring up their credit card every time something “new” comes out. You’re now culturally expected to toss everything in the trash without a moment’s thought, even if something works as good as it did the day you bought it. (Same applies for people.)

    “Climate Change? Oh, but I can download HD cat videos straight from the Interpipes on it!”

    You should snatch em up, if only as a “granny room” TV or an emergency backup. Worse case, you need a part from E-Bay. Remember, analogue is ALWAYS more reliable than digital and the older something is, the longer it will last. Besides, you wouldn’t want to interrupt that all important……Melissa & Joey binge-watch on Nutflix! 🙂

    Like

    • July 13, 2015 at 4:12 pm

      I couldn’t carry the heavy sumbitches back to my tiny apartment, much less figure out where to keep one of them. Hell, I couldn’t fix one of those monstrosities even if I could figure out dilemmas 1 and 2. I remember back in the day (The year 2001, LOL), I actually owned one that size. It took me, my son, my then wife, and a skateboard just to pick it up and move it. That was when I weighed 300 pounds and was strong as an ox. My current wife and I had one similar to the tv on the left. While it was somewhat lighter than the one I owned before that, it was still a bitch to move!

      What cracks me up down here in East Jesus, Ky, is that even though the apartment complex manager tells everyone not to drop huge shit in front of the dumpster, everyone does it anyway. Most days, the complex is lucky that people will even throw their everyday garbage in the dumpster. They throw their shit around or on the dumpster, but not actually in it. Of course these are the same people who wear battle flag belt buckles, hate Obama, and curse out loud that they can’t buy beer with their EBT cards.

      Like

      • Sedate Me
        July 16, 2015 at 2:04 pm

        (Warning: Because they’re painting his pad, Sedate Me will be VERY high on paint & wood-stain fumes for the next couple weeks and can not to be held responsible for anything he says.)

        1) East Jesus KY! (KY? Like the jelly)? What’s the matter? You can’t afford to live in West Jesus? All the more reason to snatch up those TVs. If you could sell just one functioning dumpster-TV a month, you’d soon be “movin’ on up” to a dee-lux apartment in the West Jesus sky.

        What do you think e-bay is for? Selling shit people found in dumpsters that still works. Even without e-bay, there’s good money in “re-marketing” shit.

        3) Don’t worry about fixing the TVs. Trust me, at least 1 of those mufuckahs work. If the screens aren’t broken, I’d bet you enough money to buy a new TV that at least one works.

        8) Suck it up, you pussy! Those are 2 FREE TVs just headed to the landfill! It’s not like they’re an hour’s drive away. They’re at your own dumpster.

        It’s not as if I’m suggesting this kind of shit, even though it’s perfectly legal because the courts say The Pigs can do it.

        2) If you’re worried about poppin a back disk, plug the TVs into an extension cord first. Then you’ll know if you have to do anything. Hell, the superintendent might even help, or loan you the equipment, just to get them out of there.

        Or promise the wife that, if she helps, you won’t try to have sex with her for a couple months. Instant Wonder Woman.

        37) What the fuck is an EBT card? Is that a discount card for members of theSons of The Confederacy?

        Like

        • July 16, 2015 at 5:14 pm

          You really should have your own blog. I know I would read it :). EBT is also known as food stamps.

          Like

  2. Sedate Me
    July 17, 2015 at 5:38 pm

    Thanks…I think. Now that I’m “on the Welfare EBT”, I finally have some time to write. I might actually do it, if I could figure out a way to:

    1) do it.

    I’m great at writing. Even while high on paint fumes I’m more literate than most people are cold sober. But, Neo-Luddite that I am, I’m useless with the Tech.

    2) do it without winding up in Gitmo.

    Canuckistan just passed a Nazification law that (among other things) allows Big Brother to disappear blogs and bloggers who might, at some point in the future “undermine the security” or pose a “threat” to the government, persons, or corporations inside Canada. This includes anyone who advocates or voices approval of such security “threats”…. And all without such pesky, unnecessary, things as “warrants” or “trials”.

    https://bccla.org/2015/03/8-things-you-need-to-know-about-bill-c-51/

    For example: I can no longer type “I hope somebody punches Canuckistan PM-for-life Stephen Harper Herpes right in the face” without running the risk of being disappeared. Nor can I threaten to hold (or voice support for) a demonstration against a corporation that doesn’t have a legal permit.

    So, until I can figure out a way do to both 1 & 2, I’ll probably remain a “blog hogger” who endlessly blathers on other people’s blogs and hides behind every identity masking program he can. 🙂

    Like

    • July 17, 2015 at 5:56 pm

      I’m on government assistance as well, which is a good reason why I’m writing again, cuz free time! I wouldn’t worry so much about Canada’s “security” laws. I’ve written lots of anti government, anti nationalist stuff on this blog. I know for a fact that the FBI at the very least has checked out my blog. I’ve even been on Russian TV criticizing our government. I’m still here!

      Like

      • Sedate Me
        July 18, 2015 at 5:13 pm

        Yeah…for now!

        But your time will come. There’s just a few more steps to be taken first. For the time being, they’re watching, taking stats, doing risk assessments, tracking your connections (Sorry, my bad!), compiling a psychological profile to figure out what makes you tick, so that they can break you when the time comes…and it will. This is 1984 and we all eventually get a trip to Room 101. Hey, maybe we’ll get to share a bunk bed. 🙂

        But right now, you’re considerably safer than I am. That’s because you’re a citizen of the American Empire. For now, that still means something (provided you’re a white, non-Muslim) I’m just a lowly, disloyal, colonialist. As such, I have severely “flexible” rights, most of which are collapsing faster than the World Trade Centre towers (Note to CSIS agents: That was a metaphor, NOT me voicing support for a terrorist action. That would be a Thought Crime I could be disappeared for.)

        My government doesn’t give a flying fuck about human rights. But even if it did, one call from the US Empire to the red phone on the PM’s desk and I’m a human piñata.

        It’s already happened to some of my off-white fellow citizens. Thanks to the deliberate actions of Canuckistan government agencies, these poor (totally innocent) fuckers were detained & tortured for a total of about 8 years.

        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maher_Arar
        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ahmad_El-Maati
        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abdullah_Almalki
        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muayyed_Nureddin

        Canada can also disappear non-citizens on Canadian soil under “Security Certificates” which resemble a Franz Kafka novel. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Trial You’re snatched up without warning. A secret trial is held where you’re not allowed to see the evidence. Then you rot in jail until they decide what to do with you. One guy was there for 10 years. Then the door opened and the “dangerous threat to national security” was free to roam the streets like it never happened.

        Things are really fucked up here in Canuckistan.

        Like

        • July 19, 2015 at 7:39 am

          Unfortunately, this is the way of the world. Security and defense is profitable, and paranoia is an effective selling tool.

          Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

