Foil

Quick, name three artists who have had a top forty hit in every decade since 1980. Give up? It’s Michael Jackson, Madonna, and Weird Al Yankovic. Yes, you read it correctly: Weird. Al. Yankovic. His latest album, (Do we still call them albums?) Mandatory Fun is the first comedy album to debut at #1 since the Kennedy administration. I thought I would share this video parodying Lourde’s song Royals, because it’s sympatico with my blog. Also: It’s funny as hell 🙂

Without further adieu, I share with you Weird Al’s Foil.

  1. Sedate Me
    August 8, 2014 at 8:12 pm

    Huzzah, a new post! and -extra bonus- “Foil” is also very relevant to this website! No fucking clue who “Lorde” is, but I’m sure I’d like Weird Al’s song better…and I’m sure he’ll be around longer.

    Weird Al? I thought the answer was Cliff Richard. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cliff_Richard That hit making geezer is still at it!

    Now for my Weird Al story. I was slaving away at my desk like a veal calf chained to my feed trough. I looked up out the window for the first time all day and saw a guy who looked like Weird Al walking past in a Hawaiian shirt with -if I recall- his accordion. (even though he rarely used it at that point). And he did it again an hour later. I thought I was hallucinating, (don’t ask why, US border guards do websearches on Canadian’s “forbidden” behaviours when they try to cross) so I just sat there. Turns out he actually was in my little podunk nowhereville for a concert. The gal working next to me raced out the front door, tackled him, and damn near sexually assaulted him as I watched. He was as red as his shirt.

    I knew I should have hit on her.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

