Home > Enough about me. > I Think I’m Going to Loose My Mind!

I Think I’m Going to Loose My Mind!

WTF internet? When did lose become loose? Am I missing something here? Every where I look, I see people who freely substitute the word “loose” for the word “lose”. Such as “OMG, I think my team is going to loose this game!” In case everyone has forgotten, here’s a reminder of how to use these two very different words.

Loose -“The fucking dog is loose again!”

Lose – “If I see one more fucking misuse of the word loose, I’m going to lose my shit!”

See the difference? These two words are in no way interchangeable. I don’t mean to be a grammar nazi here, but Jesus Christ people, you’re better than that. At least I think you’re better than that. Let’s review one more time:

Loose – “Your grasp of the English language has apparently been set loose.”

Lose – “Did you lose your grasp of the English language?”

Could we please correct this before I LOSE all of my faith in humanity?

  1. March 30, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    Sadly, if I paid attention to every misspelling I see online, I’d be in a padded room by now.

    Like

    • March 31, 2014 at 5:15 am

      It drives me crazy. I usually see them in the comments section of an article that I just read. Maybe I should stay the hell out of the comments sections šŸ™‚

      Like

      • April 3, 2014 at 12:33 am

        There is more than one good reason to stay out of comments sections šŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Sedate Me
    May 16, 2014 at 6:47 pm

    Comments? Comments are only there to trick illiterate imbeciles into thinking the website owner gives a flying fuck about what they have to say about anything.

    Like

  3. Sedate Me
    May 21, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    Wait a minute!

    You still have faith in humanity??? Can I have some of what your smoking? Because that shit must be spectacular!

    Like

  4. Moe
    June 18, 2014 at 3:15 pm

    How about the now universal substitution of ‘less’ for ‘fewer’. Not just on the intertubes, but all over talk teevee too. Makes my teeth hurt!

    Like

    • June 24, 2014 at 4:17 pm

      I haven’t had the privilege of getting subjected to that yet. That would make certain parts of me pucker and unpucker, lol.

      Like

      • Moe
        June 24, 2014 at 4:22 pm

        Bet that from now on, you’ll hear it everywhere. That’s a rule of the universe!

        Like

  5. Sedate Me
    July 5, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    While the education system gets shittier every decade to the point where it now graduates imbeciles who can’t even sign their own names, http://www.thestar.com/yourtoronto/education/2013/06/23/why_johnny_cant_sign_his_name_cursive_writing_goes_the_way_of_the_quill.html
    I blame the communication technologies themselves. I blame Loserbook and the Twit Zone in particular. Anything that limits the length of your comment demands that your thinking also be limited. With a 140 character maximum, you don’t have the time to be anything BUT stupid, ham-fisted and fast. Speed is the enemy of quality. Today, it’s all about speed.

    I was around during the Internet’s earliest years. The quality of writing hovered around the magazine level, if not book level. That’s because the Internet wasn’t very popular. The average moron wasn’t on-line typing illiterate bullshit all day long. Even most people who used the Internet didn’t spend much time on-line. The only way to access it was via a desktop with a modem and being on-line was an expensive pay-per-hour proposition for many. Folks might spend 5 hours writing a comment, but they did so off-line to save money. That allowed them to concentrate on their writing and perfect their message. The pace of comment posting was measured in days & hours, not minutes & seconds.

    Speed now counts for far more than content. Sheer volume now counts for more than quality. Things have become considerable worse since Internet connected cellphones became popular. Since every moron is on-line almost continuously, they are aware of every new comment as it appears. Thus the pressure to respond even faster is increased. This “always connected” factor alone has vastly reduced the quality of “writing”…and I use the term losely. (sic.)

    Culturally speaking, being an illiterate idiot is no longer something you try to hide. In this era where everyone gets handed a trophy for just showing up and thinks they’re a superstar on their way to the top, nobody is ashamed of appearing stupid anymore. If anything, they’re proud.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

