Home > Enough about me. > A Night at The Opera

A Night at The Opera

I bet not many outside of the Cincinnati region realize that the Queen City has a world wide reputation for it’s performing arts. My wife an I make it a point to make it up there at least once a year to view a performance from a host of venues, including the Ensemble Theatre, and the Cincinnati Opera. On Saturday night, we ventured up to Music Hall, to watch the antics of that audacious libertine, Don Giovanni. Written by Mozart in 1787, Don Giovanni is based on the legend of one of the all time great seducers, Don Juan.

First and foremost, I want to say that we had a great time. We bought a package that included a great dinner at the hall, followed by another terrific performance by the actors, as well as the orchestra. As usual, the singing and music was amazing, and the performers are every bit as engaging as anything you can find in New York. I would stack Cincinnati’s opera company up against any city in the world: They are that good. The problem though, in spite of the wonderful performances, is that I didn’t enjoy the actual opera all that much.  For me, Don Giovanni is a little too misogynistic for my taste. While I do understand that this is an 18th century opera, and that there is going to be misogyny and chauvinism, it was quite simply too much to allow me and my wife to fully enjoy the performance. I spent most of the evening pissed off, because the women were portrayed as weak willed creatures who had but no choice but to submit to his abuse wily charms.  While there were moments of humor, there were few moments of anything else but anger. There was no romantic payoff, no climax, and no closure. The story just fizzled out, and left me scratching my head.

At least the rest of the evening was great. Like I said, the dinner was tasty, the performance was terrific, and the company as always, was the best. I also have to say that there is nothing quite like getting dressed up, and going out to people watch. The opera is a top notch venue for both. So far, we’ve been to three performances at the old opera house: We’ve seen La Boheme, which we loved, and Aida, which we adored. Don Giovanni on the other hand, was just meh.

  1. mac
    June 17, 2013 at 3:34 am

    Wow sounds great!! And that scene with the Commendatore really inspired me to experiment with opera singing once 😀 Not very good at all – but ENORMOUSLY fun!!!

    Like

  2. June 18, 2013 at 9:34 am

    “Don Giovanni on the other hand, was just meh.”
    Brilliant!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

