Home > Politics, Religion, Uncategorized > Happy Easter From Paul Ryan And The GOP

Happy Easter From Paul Ryan And The GOP

Actually, It should be happy christian holiday copied from the Pagan rite of spring Ostara, which celebrates the emergence of new life after the harsh winter months.  The christian hierarchy had a cunning way of fashioning Pagan holidays into their own, in order to manipulate nature worshipers into becoming obedient christians.

At any rate, this cartoon perfectly symbolizes what Paul Ryan and the GOP is all about: Stealing out of the mouths and pockets of the poor and middle class, in order to make fatter the class that has already grown morbidly obese by feeding from our hard work.

532906_514816151898676_1751378480_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A tip of the tin foil hat to cartoonist Mike Luckovich, for hitting the nail on the head, as well as a tip of the tin foil hat to Being Liberal for sharing.

 

  1. CS
    March 31, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    As much as you obviously enjoy being smug and antagonizing Christians,
    Easter actually wasn’t “copied from the pagan rite of Ostara”.
    Christians were celebrating Easter before it ever became associated with eggs and bunny rabbits, and it wasn’t teven called “Easter” back then.

    The Greeks called it “Pascha”, which is derived from “Pesach”, which is the Hebrew word for Passover, because the events commemorated by Easter occurred during Passover and bear a symbolic connection. Most other languages refer to Easter by some variation of “Pascha”.

    The eggs and bunny rabbits and such are derived from northern European springtime folk traditions, which MAY have been connected to pagan deities, but guess what?

    Worship of Eostre or Ostara is a THEORETICAL HISTORICAL RECONSTRUCTION.

    Some scholars proposed, based on some linguistic and cultural clues, that such a deity may have been worshipped at one point, but they’re not 100% sure. The modern-day Pagans celebrating “Ostara” are basing their celebration on a theoretical religion and celebration that may or may not have actually been practiced at any point. There are etymological and symbolic connections to suggest it, but it’s actually not a proven thing that such a religion existed.

    So stop going around saying “Derp, Christians copied Easter off of Ostara!” like it’s a matter-of-fact. You really shouldn’t go around spreading rumors based on some stupid picture you saw on the Internets without verifying the information.

    Like

    • March 31, 2013 at 5:57 pm

      I was actually referring to the many pagan style holidays the well predate christian holidays (Mithras anyone?) Sorry if I wasn’t specific enough for your taste: I did leave a lot of room for christian revisionist bullying, didn’t I? Talk about smug: condescend much?

      Happy fucking Easter jack ass.

      Like

  2. CS
    March 31, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    Just in case you misunderstood;
    I mean Christians were celebrating their religious portion of the Easter celebration long before the eggs and bunny rabbits were added for fun based on English/Northern European folk traditions (because those people were already doing that stuff), and those traditions are of questionable origin. “Eostre” was also the name of the month (or a part of the name) in which those traditions were celebrated.

    Like

  3. CS
    March 31, 2013 at 11:52 pm

    No, you specifically said that Easter is a “Christian holiday copied from the Pagan rite of spring Ostara”, which, as I’ve pointed out, is a claim with many problems.

    There have been a number of intentionally disrespectful and/or inaccurate pictures going around Facebook and the rest of the Internet dumbing down the whole explanation into, “Derp, Christians stole a pagan holiday and made it dumb LOLZ stupid Christians!”.

    Of course I’m going to push back against inaccuracy and disrespect.
    Don’t try to turn this back around as me bullying you.
    If you feel bullied by accurate facts, you have a problem.
    I haven’t “revised” anything. This is all information you can research for yourself.

    Also, “Mithras”?
    Mithras isn’t even a holiday, it’s the Greek name for a Persian god who was worshipped by a secretive Greek society, which doesn’t seem to have any connection to Easter or Easter-type celebrations that I’m aware of. And no, you were not talking about “the many pagan style holidays the well predate christian holidays, because, as previously mentioned, you specifically claimed that “Easter is a Christian holiday copied from the Pagan rite of spring Ostara”.

    Get your facts straight before you post on the Internet, and don’t be such a crybaby.

    Like

    • April 1, 2013 at 12:34 pm

      I know who Mithra is, and I was using him as an example of Christians copying from other mythologies. I understand that my response was very general, and that’s my fault for not being specific. Here’s a link you may or may not want to check out: I was actually comparing the myth of Jesus to the myth of Mithra.
      http://www.near-death.com/experiences/origen048.html

      As for my use of Ostara, I know that the celebration of that specific holiday, may or may not of existed. It was first mentioned by Bede, and then Jakob Grimm some 700 years later. Other than that, there is no real substantiation. However, in the pagan and wiccan circles, the vernal equinox is celebrated as Ostara, or Eostre I believe. I may have been too specific, but what I’m pointing to is the fact that almost every nature based celebration over the millenia, has been copied in some fashion by Christian mythology, in order to make transition of nature based worshippers, whether by force or by choice, more palatable to accept.

      You can attack me all you want, I really don’t care. However I do my research, in this case, the translation was poorly worded on my point. I’ll own that.

      You can point fingers all you want, but the fact of the matter is that something about this post got under your skin. Perhaps your protests indicate that there is more truth to my poorly worded points than you want to admit? After all, if my post was as unfounded as you so aggressively point out. Why bother to read or even comment on it?

      Aren’t you supposed to turn the other cheek, or pray for me, or utter some other sky father mumbo jumbo to that effect?

      Smug begets smug, and if I didn’t have your Christian mythology shoved in my face as the best mythology ever, I wouldn’t bother to take pointed jabs.

      Like

  4. April 1, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    Yep, those Republicans. So good at following the teachings of Jesus, aren’t they? “Always give to the fattest guy”.

    Also, I’m a Christian and I also happen to be well aware of the fact that the holidays I celebrate–whether that be Christmas or Easter–were borrowed/stolen from the pagans. Having this pointed out to me does not bother me one bit. The important part for me is the spiritual meaning of the holiday, such as rebirth and fertility in the spring, whether that meaning is dressed up in Christian or pagan clothes. Let’s all celebrate what is human about those holidays and we’ll be fine.

    Like

    • April 2, 2013 at 6:19 am

      Well put Eurobrat! This post was meant as a political slam toward Ryan and the GOP. I never really meant for this to turn into a heated religious discussion. I guess all of the proselytizing from my FB friends made me a little salty, LOL. I love all of my friends, but I swear if I had to look at one more pic of a cave with a big rock moved aside…

      Like

      • April 2, 2013 at 10:53 pm

        Oh, I can’t blame ya at all. The conversion attempts even get under my skin, and I’m supposed to be part of the same religion 🙂

        Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

