Home > Bi partisan Incompetence, Politics, Uncategorized > State Of The Union Address – 2013

State Of The Union Address – 2013

You can also go here for full text of the speech.

What are your thoughts on Obama’s SOTU? I have to admit, I only caught the last half hour last night. However, I did get a chance to read the full text of his speech this morning. All in all, I thought it was a very moving address. Here are some points that caught my attention:

1. POTUS finished his speech with an extremely emotional bang. His call for tougher gun control regulations were punctuated with recognition of several victims of gun violence. After each name was called, he implored that each victim deserves a vote. Even John Boehner rose to his feet to applaud. However, I couldn’t help but feel that this was nothing more than emotional grandstanding. Obama never once mentioned an actual passing of a gun control bill, he merely called for some form of legislation to be voted upon. He knows full well that nothing will pass through the NRA controlled congress. His rhetoric did make me tear up a little though.

2. Climate change. Yes Mr. President, our climate has changed. You’re a little late, but welcome to the conversation. For the sake of every living thing on this planet. I implore you to lead the way in reducing our carbon footprint. Climate change is an issue that you should be talking about every single day until something is done.

3. Raising the minimum wage. This is also long overdue. There should be no such thing as the working poor. I like the idea of tying the minimum wage to the cost of living index. Make it happen.

4. Improving infrastructure. Again, long overdue. Want to put people back to work? Want to attract more jobs and boost interstate commerce? Improve our decaying infrastructure. It’s a no brainer.

5. Women do deserve equal pay: Twist some arms and make this happen.

6. Cyber security. This makes me little nervous. I can’t help but feel that more of our civil liberties are going to be stripped under the guise of national security and cyber security. It seemed as this part of his speech was pointed more toward hacktivists such as Anonymous, and less toward global terrorist.

7. Transparency of national security. Obama tells us that congress is informed of every program and action taken by our security and intelligence agencies. He also assured that the public would be kept in the know. This was a pants on fire moment for the president. I’m skeptical, as is a majority of the country. Let’s get a look at that kill list Mr. President!

8. Cut Spending, close tax loopholes. I agree, but why fuck with Medicare?

9. Obama seemed more bi-partisan. He worked very hard to remind everyone last night that we’re in this for the long haul. He seemed to throw a little something out to both parties.

10. What the hell is the deal with Joe Biden’s eyes? I love me some Joe Biden: However, he looked downright scary last night.
image

The whole time I was watching the speech, Biden’s lack of pupil visibility was freaking me and my partner out. It was very disturbing.
Bonus: Boehner seemed to be an even higher shade of orange.

Over all, I think it was one of the president’s best speeches. He was conciliatory, and he was passionate about issues that are in the fore front of the county’s collective mind. As with every SOTU, I can only hope there’s more action than lip service.

  1. February 13, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    I’m concerned about the increase in the minimum wage. Right now it varies by state, and so does the cost of living. Will that be factored in? Increasing the minimum wage in low-income states will result in job-loss. I have no doubt about that. But who will be affected? Who is actually on minimum wage? A lot of high school jobs. A lot of season jobs. A lot of jobs that affect migratory workers and farm labor. If those jobs are kept by their employers, then where will they pass the increase? Bottom line, I think a lot of this needs some serious hardcore analysis before the federal minimum wage is adjusted. I’m not opposed to it, I just want to see the statistics first, and I want a good understanding of the ramifications.

    A lot of the other stuff was good. Cybersecurity is a big issue on the government level. I’m not so sure how much of it relates to civil liberties. Some of it, perhaps.

    I was happy with his comments about the environment, but I’ll wait and see how much of it he can pull of with all those tea-baggers in Congress. There’s only so much you can do with regulation, and they won’t pass new laws.

    Overall, it was a good speech. Nothing really new, though, and certainly nothing unexpected. I thought he did a good job in his delivery.

    Like

    • February 13, 2013 at 2:56 pm

      In regards to your minimum wage questions and concerns, they are all valid. The same thoughts occurred to me. However, while I don’t know the answers, I do know this: There are more adults in minimum wage jobs than high school kid or young adults. Many of these people are just like you and me, except they’re trying to live on $14,000 a year. That may of been slightly acceptable
      20 or so years ago, but it’s well below the poverty level now. Their wages are so paltry, that they still depend on government assistance to get by. It would be much cheaper (and humane) to raise the wage, and get them off assistance.

      Like

      • February 13, 2013 at 3:58 pm

        Minimum wage in my state is $9.19 / hour.
        http://lni.wa.gov/News/2012/pr121228a.asp
        This is controlled by the state, but the federal minimum wage sets the bars for all states. Cost of living is higher in my state, and the state government has wisely chosen to go beyond the federal limits. Right now, we allow teenagers (14-15) to work at the federal minimum wage, and 16 and up to work at the state’s higher minimum wage. If that increases, you’ll see a major drop in businesses willing to higher teenagers in that age range.

        Cost of living isn’t the same in all states, though, and there’s the problem. Income should be commensurate with the cost of living in the area, not the entire country. I’d want to take the COL for each state and cross reference that with the poverty level and minimum wage, adjusting accordingly and reflecting the age of those employed with adjustments to those rates as well. I’m sure a simple algorithm could be constructed to do this, resulting in increases to minimum wages relative to the COL and ages of those employed. That’s what I’d like to see. Not a blanket solution for the country, a balanced solution according to what works. Of course, you’ve got to convince the red states that this is a good idea too.

        Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

