Home > Education, Feminism, Uncategorized > The Girls Scouts Are Polar Opposites Of The Boy Scouts

The Girls Scouts Are Polar Opposites Of The Boy Scouts

image

It’s Girl Scout cookie season, so I’m not surprised that this graphic is making the rounds among the conservatives. Personally, I think that all of these “negative” attributes are actually positive. If a parent wants to shelter their daughter from education that they would actually need an use to survive, then they should just keep them in an organization of patriarchal ignorance, such as a church.

The Girl Scouts are doing right by these young women. If I had a daughter, I would be happy if she wanted to be a Girl Scout.

Now, about those cookies…

  1. January 30, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    Now if they could just start selling girl scout salads or tofu or something remotely healthy they’d be perfect.

    Like

    • January 30, 2013 at 3:27 pm

      Hey now, don’t be talking that crazy stuff about their cookies! My right to buy GS cookies is covered buy whatever ambiguous verbage in whatever amendment or bible verse that suits my need for pure delicious cookie gluttony 😉

      Like

  2. January 30, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    Huh. After reading this, I wanna support the Girl Scouts. And I don’t even like their cookies.

    Like

  3. January 30, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    Admitedly I’m biased. I’m a long term sufferer of girl scout cookie gluttony, and it shows.

    Like

  4. carvingoutavoice
    January 31, 2013 at 8:31 am

    Oh, damnit, why did we walk past that damn girl scout cookie display last weekend? We could have given to a great “subversive” group AND we wouldn’t have needed to make brownies last night to get our chocolate fix 🙂

    Like

    • January 31, 2013 at 11:37 am

      True, however I would argue that we were displaying that scout ingenuity and go get em spirit by making our own treats 😉

      Like

  5. January 31, 2013 at 10:40 am

    I did the office cookie pusher routine when my daughter was in Girl Scouts. It wasn’t fun, but I’ll have to admit I prefer their organization to the Boy Scouts. Both of my kids have put these institutions in the rear view mirror, but I was extensively involved with both for a while. Looking back on it, all I can say is, I’m glad that’s over.

    I talked with my son, at one point, about starting another organization – one focused simply on families that wanted to travel together and take their kids camping, or hit water slides and theme parks. No dues. No selling popcorn. No stupid courses. Just fun. But, of course, someone would have to organize it. And that wasn’t going to be me. I’ve got too much on my plate already. Still, it would be a cool organization, and a lot of fun if it existed. Kind of like a “vacation club” for families with kids the same age.

    Like

    • January 31, 2013 at 1:14 pm

      I would agree. It would be really cool if there was some sort of social outlet such as a vacation group for families. It’s so hard now days in this world of Facebook for people to connect in person!

      Like

  6. January 31, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    and to think I am craving me some Thin Mints, and have been for a week. Ahh

    Like

    • January 31, 2013 at 1:08 pm

      My partner loves the thin mints. I love those peanut butter sandwich type cookie thingys

      Like

      • January 31, 2013 at 1:09 pm

        with daughter’s food allergy I can’t have the goodness of Peanut Butter anymore :/ Probably will even have to hide the Thin Mints

        Like

        • January 31, 2013 at 1:17 pm

          I’m sorry to hear about your daughter’s food allergies. That has to be rough for her. I don’t know what I’d do if I was told I couldn’t have peanut butter. I think my head might explode.

          Like

          • January 31, 2013 at 6:29 pm

            My head did explode lol! We also can’t have tree nuts, so no more pecan pie either 😮

            Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

