Home > Enough about me., In the News, Uncategorized > RIP Adam “MCA” Yauch

RIP Adam “MCA” Yauch

When License to Ill came out in 1986, I was the same age as Adam Yauch, 21 years old. When the Beastie Boys exploded onto the hip hop scene that year, it was one of those defining moments for me as it pertains to music. I had never heard anything like them, and I fell in love with them instantly. I can remember my son, years later, at 5 or 6 years of age singing Brass Monkey at the top of his lungs, and loving every minute of it.   I sort of lost track of them at the turn of the century, and reintroduced myself to their music approximately 7 years ago.  I fell in love with them all over again, and their music has been a steady part of my playlist ever since.  I knew MCA had been sick with cancer for a while, but his death was a total shock to me. When I read about it, I was heartbroken. I cried a little at my desk, probably about the same time my wife was in tears while driving in our car. The easties were groundbreakers, innovators, and way ahead of their time. They were the first hip hop band to top the charts, their contribution to music is legendary, as their induction to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame this year would attest to.  They are one of those bands whose music defines a moment in time for me. A time when I was young, worry free, and all about fighting for my right to party.  I’m hearbtroken, as is my partner, who was 14 when they released License to Ill. Thank you MCA, for being such a huge part of my young and middle aged life. Thank you Beastie Boys for such wonderful music, spanning 26years.

I’m going to leave you with one of my favorite Beastie songs. Feel free to post your favorite in the comments.

RIP Adam, you are missed already

  1. Sedate Me
    May 6, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    And yet that evil, heartless (literally), old fuck Dick Cheney just keeps chugging along.

    Like

  2. May 9, 2012 at 2:21 am

    The Yiddish Beastie Boys, who churned out mind-rotting records for decades are “good?”

    Like

    • May 9, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      By that comment, as well as some previous comments you’ve made on my posts, I suspect you’ll live a very long time.

      Like

    • Sedate Me
      May 12, 2012 at 5:49 pm

      As opposed to the sheer brilliance of drunken Irish rappers House of Pain or those deep and penetrating lyrics of Boston’s New Kids On The Block???

      You’re probably shit-faced right now.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

