Home > Education, Ethics, Morality > The Trolley Problem: A Utilitarianism Dilemma

The Trolley Problem: A Utilitarianism Dilemma

Check out this video: What would you do in both scenarios?

 

  1. May 28, 2013 at 11:23 am

    My moral intuition is against pushing the fat man into the path of a trolley because, in real life, this isn’t going to stop the trolley. Now the question is framed so that you know that the death of the fat man will save the lives of the four other people, but even if that were so, I wouldn’t, in a real life situation, believe it.

    The problem with utilitarianism is that it is not always possible to know the consequences of your actions. A secondary problem is that it usually can be used to find a way to rationalize unethical conduct. So it might be better, even from a standpoint of utilitarianism, for people to obey moral rules or moral intuitions rather than trying to calculate utility in doubtful cases.

    Like

  2. May 30, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    I have to agree with you Phil. That was the point I made in our class discussions on the subject. I got a lot of push back from my class mates. LOL

    On a separate note, I think this may be your first visit to my crazy little corner of blog world. Welcome! I really enjoy your posts!

    Like

  3. June 2, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    Actually I visit your blog every now and then. I should be more conscientious about pressing the “like” button.

    Like

  4. February 6, 2016 at 3:22 am

    Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this web page regularly, this
    site is truly nice and the users are genuinely sharing nice thoughts.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

