Home > Human Rights, LGBT, Sexuality > Jonah Mowry is Stronger Than Me.

Jonah Mowry is Stronger Than Me.

You simply must watch this heart wrenching video posted by a young man a few months ago, just before he started 8th grade. His name is Jonah Mowry: He has been bullied since 1st grade because of his homosexuality. He is a cutter, with many physical scars that are only rivaled by his emotional scars. He made this video during the wee hours of the morning because he was scared and feeling very alone.  He was so distraught that he couldn’t even bring himself to speak; he relays his message on hand written index cards.  I was so moved that I cried almost as hard as he did.

There are a lot of Jonah Mowrys in the world, and they need our love and support, not our hate and ostracism. Please watch the video, and then like his page on Facebook. Tell him you understand and that you care. I’m sure he would be very grateful.

Stop the bullying

  1. carvingoutavoice
    December 6, 2011 at 9:35 am

    This has to be one of the bravest acts I’ve ever seen. I hope it makes those kids who do these things because they feel like they have to in order to fit in, in order to not be a target themselves, make the right choices when confronted with these situations. Bullying is not cool. It ruins lives. It takes lives. It causes endless suffering. Jonah’s raw display of these things is a gift and I hope it’s not abused or taken lightly, but with dignity and the seriousness it deserves.

    Like

  2. December 7, 2011 at 8:04 am

    Powerful … very powerful … I hope 6.3 million hits helps him in many ways. T-Hat, thanks for increasing awareness with this post.

    Like

  3. December 24, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Hey Hat … I invite you to drop by for some holiday cheer and select a present under the tree. http://afrankangle.wordpress.com/2011/12/24/on-a-time-for-gifts/

    Like

    • December 27, 2011 at 10:20 am

      Aw nuts, I really need to find some time to pay more attention to my blog. I’m sorry I missed the invite!

      Like

  4. archemdis
    December 26, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    Thanks for sharing that video. I was a bully and never thought of the damage that I did to others at the time and most children even today think it is all just fun and games until something horrible happens. When you see it on video it really brings the victims pain into the light. Every child should see this video or one just like it a least once in their life. Very moving stuff and as another said what a brave little guy.

    Like

    • December 27, 2011 at 10:25 am

      When I was in grade school, I was often the victim at the hands of bullies. When I entered high school, I became one of the bullies that I was so terrified of when I was younger. I was a total dick in High School, and even at the age of 46, I’m still ashamed of my actions all those years ago. I think that is a major reason why videos such as these have such an emotional impact on me.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

