Home > Human Rights, Religion > According to The Gulnare Free Will Baptist Church, god Doesn’t Like Interracial Couples.

According to The Gulnare Free Will Baptist Church, god Doesn’t Like Interracial Couples.

Frequent readers of my blog know that I make no secret of the fact that I’m a born again atheist. However, while I do have a fairly high level of disgust for religion, I keep most of my disdain to myself. After all, there are many out there who do believe in some form of god, and yet are good people in spite of it. A lot of people are fairly harmless in their beliefs; they attend church on a semi-regular basis and post regularly on social networking sites about their love of the invisible sky wizard. They profess their love of god in posts, and thank him for random acts of good luck such as their cat returning home after 2 days, or for the fact that god created Preparation H, which brought relief to their raging case of hemorrhoids. It’s all fairly innocuous stuff, and I refuse to challenge religion when it comes to personal choice, because it’s everyone’s right to believe in what they want. Plus there are more of them than there are of me, and I really do not want to start a religious war on Facebook, or anywhere else for that matter.

Be that as it may, I will not hesitate to rail against religion when it is used as a tool to oppress. To use god as an excuse to be cruel to others, to maim and murder, to take away choice and dignity, to pass judgment or exclude based on faulty reasoning, is just too much for me to keep quiet about. The story of the Gulnare Free Will Baptist Church, a small congregation in a rural part of Kentucky, is a story that has me calling bullshit, and once again waving my middle finger to the invisible sky wizard, as well as his prejudiced little minions.

As some of you may have read by now, this tiny, all white church, recently voted to ban interracial couples from joining, releasing a statement that “the church does not condone interracial marriage.” The only saving grace in this atrocity is that many of the church’s members are outraged, and are speaking out against this decision.

This trip down the oppressive rabbit hole started when the daughter of the church’s secretary, Dean Harville visited the church this summer with her African fiancé; while at the church, her fiancé sang a song in front of the congregation. Later that summer, Harville was approached by former pastor Melvin Thompson, who by the way claims he is not a racist, to inform him that neither his daughter, nor her fiancé, were no longer welcome to sing in front of the church. Last Sunday after the service, a handful of members voted to not allow interracial couples to become members, or be used in worship services or other church functions. They are allowed to attend services, although I would imagine that they will be relegated to the back of the church, behind all the decent, god fearing white folks.

What in the name of Martin Luther King is this about? The current pastor does not support the resolution, but has done nothing to change it. The National Association of Free Will Baptist Churches, (the home office so to speak) has opposed the resolution, but is dragging their feet to step in. Nothing is being done so far against this despicable act of racism.

This is why I don’t believe in organized religion. Time and time again, narrow minded cruel people have used god and religion to actively seek to oppress and control what others think and do. They judge and exclude others because of their skin color, or sexual orientation, or whatever else that defines someone who is in essence, a square peg that does not fit in another’s definition of god’s round hole.

Don’t get me wrong, I recognize the fact that religion in many cases will do good things for the population as a whole; there are millions of religious people out there who do good things for the sake of doing good things. However, it’s the Melvin Thompson’s of the world who seem to constantly pop up and fuck everyone else over because some voice in their head told them to them to be a zealous douche bag. That’s not religion, that’s the form of schizophrenic sociopathic behavior that a criminal nut job like George W. Bush would display.

Maybe Thompson should run for president; I bet he would fit right in with the rest of the ass hat Republican candidates who so willingly spew out their hateful rhetoric in the name of their lord.

I thank god every day that I’m an atheist. End of rant.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/on-faith/small-ky-church-votes-against-interracial-couples-prompting-race-argument-between-members/2011/11/30/gIQA5ZcwDO_story.html

  1. Jacob
    December 1, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    I was a southern Baptist for most of my life, (now I don’t take a title other than Christian) and most of that time was spent complaining that the democratic/business-like way they run things is just too slow and rather stupid because they can have meetings of 10 people, who just want to be God rather than listen to him, making all the rules. That is why they are dragging their heels in getting this fixed, no matter how much outrage is expressed by the people as long as the ones who think their in charge are able to make others do what they say.
    And I have spent enough time in the Bible to know what they are using to support their claims, but it is way out of context, it is actually talking about when the Israelis where God’s chosen people He didn’t want them to marry other nations because it would mess up their view of him.
    (just a side note you said that some people are good in spite of being religious, or believing in God, but I tell you that no one is good, definitely not the true Christians, we are all sinners and Christians, that aren’t just playing the part, know this. I don’t mean this as an arguing point because like you I am just one person who does not want to fight it out online against millions of others that oppose me, I just wanted to share this for some reason)

    Like

    • December 1, 2011 at 11:15 pm

      Kudos to you Jacob for sharing your very unique perspective. You certainly have my respect, and that is something that I dole out very carefully. Thank you for your obviously well thought out reply, and thank you for the insight that you shared from the biblical aspect.

      And most importantly, thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Kalaka Novella
    December 2, 2011 at 1:36 am

    Well, that was certainly some rant! I too, would like to wave my middle finger at this cash cow of a church, but not at God.
    I think God in his mercy is waving his middle finger at these church people as well. I believe that this incidence is bringing to head a situation that has been brewing there under cover for a while, and now that the black cat is out of the bag these church people are going to have to deal with their predjuidice and make an accoungt of their double standard. They preach the Bible, and yet, they do not live the Bible. I can undersand why a person could loose their faith in all of this. On a personal note to you:
    God is not the God you think He is. God will not spite you because you do not believe in Him…You have your reasons, and He knows what they are. The Christian Bible originated from the Hebrew Bible. The Jewish God was a vengeful God…Jesus came to us to change our perception of this God…His Father. He came to let us know that we have it all wrong. You see, the injustices of the world is not God’s doing..it is the work of human hands and something called free will which God gave to us. That is why our world and it’s inhabitants are so screwed up. We have this free will, which God allows, to do what we want. We also have a conscience. Some people have negated their conscience, and don’t think about it. This allows them to do whatever dastardly thing that comes to mind. The bottom line…this life is not the end; we do go on in another form…not carbon based as we are now, but on a higher ethereal plane…some people call it heaven. Be happy and light hearted, and you will see your spiritual side renewed. I think you are going through spiritual dryness right now. Blessings

    Like

    • December 2, 2011 at 6:58 am

      I was born catholic, and educated in the catholic school system, so believe me when I tell you that I am pretty well informed about all aspects of god and the bible. When I was a child, I even read the bible in my spare time, when the other kids were outside playing. Back then, my concept of god was of a spirit that was gentle, and would forgive you for anything.

      What I have now is not a spiritual dryness; it is more of an awakening. It is no longer logical to me that some spirit existing on a higher ethereal plane exists, and it irks the hell out of me that so many wars and vicious acts are committed in god’s name.

      I recognize the fact that many others live a peaceful loving existence in god’s name, and I can respect that. That still doesn’t change the fact that I don’t buy into the whole god thing; it’s not for me.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      • Kalaka Novella
        December 2, 2011 at 4:27 pm

        Yes indeed, many wars and blood have been waged and spilled in God’s name. That’s what I call using God’s name in vain. A lot of stupidity also is done in God’s name…like this Gulnare Church predjudice. I just wonder what the outcome will finally be. I think they may break off from their mother church and start their own religion. That is what Martin Luther did with the Catholics, and it continues. It appears to be an ago old trend…if one does not like the practices of their church, one could always go off and start their own brand of God awareness. Henry the VIII did it, as well as countless others. Oh well…there is nothing new under the sun.

        Like

    • December 2, 2011 at 7:37 am

      Hello there,

      I stumbled across your blog while browsing the web, researching this crazy story which I also found by chance… I like your style and your ideas. This story is downright crazy, I’m so lost for words. I’m angry that such bigoted people still exist in our educated, enlightened western countries. I also want to write a piece in my own blog about this, although it might be in French, and I will probably quote you.

      But just like Kalaka Novella, I do think you’re a bit unfair with the whole concept of “organised religion” here. Although I totally agree with you that religion has consistently been used as a tool of oppression, and still is in most countries, even secular ones actually, I don’t see it’s the case here. These benighted little folks just don’t want “black” DNA creeping into their inbred gene pool, and I’m sure you’ll find it’s not just the doors of the church that are getting shut in their faces, but probably many other doors in the community. The part of the story that received worldwide publicity (I’m writing from Berlin, Germany, not from Berlin, NH, for Chrissake) is the one with the vote at church. Do you think other clubs keep their doors open to them? Some might, but a few may not. Jeez, there were 9 people who voted against this couple in the church, but there were 41% of all Alabama voters who voted against lifting the ban on interracial marriage in the State constitution (or whatever you call that) as late as 2000.

      I would say that’s the problem with organised religion: you can use it to just any end. But it’s not a typical case of it here.

      A good day to you!

      Like

      • December 2, 2011 at 8:53 pm

        There is no doubt that racism and prejudice still exists in many forms, as much as we want to deny it. In fact, I maintain that it’s as bad here as it ever was. I do agree that it can come in the secular and religious variety as well. However, no one can convince me that organized religion is no more than a tool to control the masses, and convince millions to carry out the prejudices of a narrow minded few.

        It’s been used to enslave and massacre millions of people over thousands of years, and is still a driving force behind countless atrocities in the present day. If there was a god, there’s no way he would put up with the shit that humans have pulled on each other all these centuries.

        I am very interested in checking out your blog when you’re finished. Will you send me the link when you’re done?

        Thanks for stopping by!

        Like

  3. Marvin
    December 2, 2011 at 2:03 am

    I have heard that God works in mysteries ways. I can only assume that Gulnare Free Will Baptist Church has failed that test.

    Like

  4. December 2, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Oh my holy God that makes me so 😡 This is definitely NOT what what Jesus would do. UGH!!

    Like

    • December 2, 2011 at 8:45 pm

      LOL, my version of Jesus would roll a joint, blaze up with his 12 buddies and proclaim ” Dude!” ” That is so not cool!” We need to form a protest or something!”

      Like

  5. Jim Arthur
    December 5, 2011 at 9:10 am

    Good trashing. Bad that you just limited to republicans, there’s plenty of hate all around with politics, the same kind of wording you use to describe repubs puts you in with them. Think about it, don’t become what you claim to despise. Peace.

    Like

    • December 5, 2011 at 10:51 pm

      I’m just pointing out a little hypocrisy. You know, kind of like when the Republicans trash everything under the sun that doesn’t fit into their narrow little world, and then act butt hurt when someone dishes it back. Peace.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

