Home > In the News, Politics, Uncategorized > Pick Your Topic Part Deaux: Breast Feeding Baby Doll Nurtures Controversy With Puritanical Parents

Pick Your Topic Part Deaux: Breast Feeding Baby Doll Nurtures Controversy With Puritanical Parents

My thanks to my good friend Marcy Harris for her winning topic suggestion concerning the controversy surrounding the breast feeding baby doll that was recently introduced to the American toy market. Marcy doesn’t have a blog, so I can’t promote it obviously, but I can tell you this about her; Marcy and I have known each other since we were kids. We grew up in the same neighborhood, and went to the same elementary and high school. Although we were always good friends as kids, we went our separate ways after high school and didn’t reconnect until our 25 year reunion a few years ago. Here’s the deep dark secret about Marcy that I alluded to on last nights blog post; it’s actually more telling about me than her, but it’s my blog, and I can do what I want 😉

I carried a secret crush on Marcy for three years. Starting in 7th grade and carrying over to high school, I was as madly in love with her as any hormone raging teenager could be. The trouble was that I was incredibly overweight, shy, and possessed virtually no self esteem! I couldn’t have asked her to go with me if my adolescent life had depended on it! The ironic part is that for some of the time that I was secretly crushing on her, she was crushing on my brother! Sorry Marcy, I had to go there 😉

Without further adieu, I bring to you

Breast Feeding Baby Doll Nurtures Controversy From Puritanical Parents

In 2009, the Spanish company Berjaun Toys introduced “Bebe Gloton” (Greedy Baby) to the European market. The baby doll, which simulates breast feeding, was wildly popular in Europe; so much so that 2 years later, it was introduced on the American market as the “Breast Feeding Baby Doll.” The doll comes with a special halter top that has a flower for each nipple; each flower has a sensor inside that corresponds to a sensor inside the baby doll. When the child places the doll close to the flowers, the doll makes motions and sounds that resemble the act of breast feeding. After it’s done feeding, the child has to burp it or the doll cries. The toy comes in either male or female gender, as well as several ethnicities. Sounds pretty cool, does it not? Well, apparently not according to a lot of parents who are protesting to the manufacturer about the doll.

The major complaint from parents is that the doll sexualizes the child, and forces them to grow up too early. Poppycock. The doll does no such thing.

First of all, unless it’s between two adults, breast feeding is nowhere near sexual; it’s a natural, beautiful experience of a woman bonding with her child. By breast feeding, a mother is giving her child a part of herself, nourishing and nurturing the youngster by holding the child close to her breasts, and offering the baby her milk. Every animal does this, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it, either real or simulated. Furthermore, it is in a child’s nature to mimic the adults that they interact with. Just as two lion cubs will mimic adult lions behavior of stalking and fighting, so too will children copy their parent’s actions in order to prepare themselves for adulthood. What’s so wrong about letting children experience such an important aspect of motherhood? It beats sitting them in front of a TV all day, either watching mindless shows or playing video games. It sure as hell beats letting a child play with toy guns or swords, or anything else that promotes violence at such an early age! Hell, if the doll had come out when my son was a toddler, I would have gotten it for him if he asked for it. I wouldn’t now though, since he just turned 17. That would just be awkward and kind of weird.

Are there any legitimate complaints about the doll? There is one. The fucking thing costs almost $100.00! It’s a wonderful toy, but who in the hell can afford it?

For those of you who think that the Breast Feeding Baby Doll is inappropriate and should be taken off the market, I have three words of advice:

  1. Marcy Harris.
    July 21, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    Thanks Dave for your story. It was no secret you had a crush on me, that damn Tony always got in the way didn’t he? Haha. My loss back then. Sorry.
    I agree with your opinion of the doll. I just don’t like that boobie shirt. I think if the doll would activate when tilted toward the chest would be more natural. Shall we invent this? For half the cost?

    Like

  2. carvingoutavoice
    July 22, 2011 at 6:53 am

    This country really has their ideas about sex completely messed up if they think breastfeeding is sexual. I’m with Marcie on the little flower nipples being a bit disturbing and it would be nice if it didn’t have this, but somehow I think the shirt would appeal more to squeamish American consumers. Either way, a doll that promotes a healthy, natural practice is OK in my book! There’s a lot of compelling evidence to support that it’s the healthier option over formula and this stigma needs to go.

    Like

  3. Moe
    July 22, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    “The major complaint from parents is that the doll sexualizes the child,” Those parents are the sexual freaks if that’s what they see.

    Probably the same folks who want to stop contraception. Creeps.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

