Home > Pick Your Topic Tuesday, The Environment. > Death By Moo Juice!

Death By Moo Juice!

A Dairy Crest Semi-Skimmed Milk Bottle.

Image via Wikipedia

My thanks to Tori at Anytime Yoga for her winning topic suggestion of how consuming dairy can have adverse health affects. If you haven’t checked out her blog yet please do!

Without further adieu, I bring you

Death By Moo Juice

We’ve all grown up with the myth that dairy products are good for us. We’ve been hammered over the head countless times that we need to consume milk and cheese in order to get calcium, which promotes bone growth and stability. However, recent studies have shown that calcium ingested from dairy does not promote bone growth and stability, and actually leeches calcium from our system.

What we need to realize is that our bodies were not made to consume products made from cow’s milk. After the breast feeding stage of infancy, our body loses lactase, which is needed to break down the sugars lactose and galactose that are found in cow’s milk. Our body doesn’t need or want dairy products. In fact ingesting cow’s milk can create a myriad of health issues including:

 Heart disease
 Diabetes
 Prostate cancer
 Ovarian cancer- In fact Women who consume dairy on a daily basis run a 73% higher risk of developing ovarian cancer.
 Leukemia
 Bronchitis
 Emphysema
 Asthma
 Pneumonia
 Influenza
 Nephritis ( Inflammation of the Kidneys)
Irritable Bowel Syndrome
Crohn’s disease
 Immune system disorders
 Reproductive system disorders

How are all these issues related to consumption of dairy? Well here’s the really gross part. Here’s what’s present in our dairy, regular and organic:

 59 active bovine hormones
 Massive amounts of allergens
 Fat
 Cholesterol
 Herbicides
 Pesticides
 Over 200 times the safe level of dioxins
 52 types of antibiotics
 Blood
 Pus
 Feces
 Bacteria- One bacteria in particular, Mycobacterium Para tuberculosis is passed through dairy products and has found to be a major cause of Crohn’s in many cases.
 Viruses
 Recombinant bovine growth hormone (rBGH) – This is found in traditional dairy farms; it is given to the cows in order to produce more milk.
Polychlorinated biphenyls– A major link to cancer.

And if you think that just kicking the milk habit is enough, guess again. Cheese is ten times more concentrated than milk, while Ice Cream is 12 times more concentrated. Stay away from the butter too; it contains 21 times more toxic levels than milk.

Dairy is not only bad for our health from ingestion; it puts an incredible strain on our environment as well. In the United States, it’s estimated that there are 9.2 million cows used for dairy production. Each cow consumes 330 pounds of feed, as well as 33 gallons of water a day. Since what goes in must come out, the result is 275 pounds of urine and feces per day, resulting in 923 billion pounds of untreated pollution that finds its way to our water supply. In addition, dairy cows emit 1 billion pounds of methane per year into our atmosphere, so yes, cow farts are considered to be a huge factor in global warming.

In one of my posts Wednesday, I jokingly referred to Elsie the Cow as a poison spewing hussy. It turns out that I wasn’t wrong.

  1. July 7, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    Bovine lactose?
    YUCK! No thanks.
    I haven’t touched the stuff for 40 years, and it was a doctor who told me to stay away from milk.

    Like

  2. July 7, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Man. I eat cheese and crackers like they’re going out of style. Oh well. I love them, and I figure I’ll die anyway.

    Like

    • July 7, 2011 at 8:53 pm

      LOL, I’m telling you. Both my partner and I are absolute cheese freaks. I don’t drink milk because it is nasty for a body, but I’m not giving up cheese. I don’t care what’s in it.

      Like

      • July 7, 2011 at 11:47 pm

        Yeah, the cheese has been hardest for me.

        I can take my coffee with a non-dairy milk substitute (almond or rice, usually) or drink it black. I can find non-dairy substitutes for what would otherwise be dairy desserts.

        But cheese has no acceptable substitute.

        Like

        • July 8, 2011 at 7:13 am

          I use almond milk for my cereal and coconut milk creamer for my coffee. I’ve been feeling pretty good since we cut way back on the dairy. Goat cheese isn’t bad, and it doesn’t have nearly the toxins of cheese made from cow’s milk.

          Like

      • July 8, 2011 at 2:26 pm

        Yup. Even though it feels like an eternity, life is short. They’ll have to pry the chevre or Roquefort from my cold dead hands.

        Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

