Home > Bi partisan Incompetence, Politics > Would You Vote For a Third Party Candidate?

Would You Vote For a Third Party Candidate?

Citizens registered as an Independent, Democra...

Image via Wikipedia

Some interesting news was published by the Atlantic Monthly. According to a recent Gallup poll, 52% of Republicans questioned are in favor of a third party candidate for the 2012 election.
Not surprisingly, a full 60% of Tea Baggers also want a third party!

Most of this dissension stems from the fact that most Americans are unhappy with the direction the country is headed (duh), as well as unhappiness with the Republicans determination to screw with Medicare.

If a third party candidate such as Donald Trump or Ron Paul were to rise out of the ashes of the Republican party primaries, this would be more good news for Obama. Remember Ross Perot? He divided the Republican vote in 1992, which allowed Bill Clinton to squeak by favored incumbent George H.W. Bush.

Unfortunately, there is little opportunity for third party politicians in a presidential election. It’s a shame, because we need more viable choices than what the Democrats or Republicans throw at us every 4 years.

I voted for Obama, and I’m not happy with his work. As one blogger recently stated, “this is nothing more than Bush’s third term.” I refuse to vote for a Republican candidate, so where does that leave me, and others who feel as I do? Screwed, that’s where.

National politics is a game that only allows for 2 players in our bi-partisan presidential elections. I wish that would change; otherwise if I vote outside the party, I’m going to distinctly feel like my vote was wasted.

http://m.yahoo.com/w/ynews/article/politics/5?url=http%3A%2F%2Fxml.news.yahoo.com%2Fus%2Fnews%2Frss%2Frichstoryrss.html%3Fu%3D%2Fatlantic%2Fmostrepublicanswantthirdparty37509&.ts=1305121454&.intl=us&.lang=en

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

  1. Tom
    May 11, 2011 at 11:08 am

    The current 2 party system no longer works. They are both the same. Does not matter who wins, they are both taking us to the same place, and it ain’t good.
    yea, a third party must rise IMHO.

    Like

    • May 11, 2011 at 1:08 pm

      My favorite analogy (or is that metaphor?) of the 2 parties is that they’re 2 trains heading for the same wall.

      On Wed May 11th, 2011 11:08 AM EDT

      Like

  2. May 11, 2011 at 11:41 am

    Tom is right.

    Like

  3. May 11, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    Hat,
    First and foremost, great question!

    Could I? Absolutely … but the key question lies in the “nominee” and their intentions. For instance, a 3rd party aligned with the Tea Party has no chance of getting my vote – nada, zilch, ka-put, zero. On the other hand, a moderate has a chance – then again, it also depends on the Dems and GOP nominees. I guess I’m saying, too early to tell – but I’m open.

    Like

    • May 11, 2011 at 1:04 pm

      I’m with you there. There is no way I would vote for a Tea Bagger.

      On Wed May 11th, 2011 12:21 PM EDT

      Like

  4. Alan Scott
    May 11, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    I cannot foresee a viable third party candidate because both parties have been burned by them . The Republicans by Ross Perot and Democrats by Ralph Nader . You have a battle within each party for control. The far left won control of the Democrats years ago . The moderates and the far right fight for the Republican nomination .

    Depending how pissed off the losing faction is within each party determines whether they turn out . I just cannot see them going to a third party that guarantees the worst possible outcome . This is not Canada where a third party can form a coalition with the first Party to screw the second party .

    Perot and Nader got nothing out of throwing the elections to the enemy .

    Like

    • May 11, 2011 at 6:49 pm

      Hi Alan, it’s good to see you back in my little leftist side of the world 😉
      I absolutely agree with you on this. Third party candidates will never succeed in our national bi-partisan world, and that’s unfortunate. Too many voters are left with choosing one side or the other because they feel that one candidate is the lesser of 2 evils, rather than the best man for the job. If voters could confidently choose who they thought was the best person for the job, rather than feel restricted to Democrats or Republicans, than who knows? Maybe a Perot or Nader would have won, rather than help sway the election to one side or the other.

      Another huge problem is that third party candidates are way underfunded. Compared to the Democratic and Republican fund raising juggernauts, third party candidates are behind the 8 ball from the outset. It’s like trying to take down a tank with a fly swatter; it’s just not going to happen. They can’t compete, and will never be able to.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  5. May 12, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    I’ve heard that Obama is Bush with a tan. Haha. I won’t vote for a third-candidate because as you said,

    “National politics is a game that only allows for 2 players in our bi-partisan presidential elections. I wish that would change; otherwise if I vote outside the party, I’m going to distinctly feel like my vote was wasted.”

    I can’t waste that precious vote. I have to vote for the friend that disappoints me than let the enemy back in.

    Like

    • May 12, 2011 at 3:01 pm

      I have to agree with you; if I have to choose between Obama and a neo-con, I’m going to choose Obama.Although I worry that Obama is a neo-con in lib clothing.

      On Thu May 12th, 2011 2:26 PM EDT

      Like

      • May 12, 2011 at 4:20 pm

        I would say he’s more center, but the health care law definitely shows he leans left.

        Like

  6. May 12, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Well, he definitely has leftist leanings on some issues. The Health care law and the DREAM act are good examples. However, His silence on the shenanigans that Republicans are pulling on many issues such as the plague of statewide anti-union bills, and the fact that many of our civil liberties that Bush stripped from us still remain non-existent, gives me great cause for concern about his intentions.

    Like

  7. Alan Scott
    May 12, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    Beneath The Tin Foil Hat ,

    ” Too many voters are left with choosing one side or the other because they feel that one candidate is the lesser of 2 evils, rather than the best man for the job. ”

    I disagree. I have lately been following Canadian blogs where they have coalition governments with multiple parties . I can’t follow it yet . I look at the multiple factions within each party in the US fighting it out every primary season . That’s where each group fights for a piece of the collective pie,,, if , if , they then win in the general election .

    As bad as that is, once it’s settled, it’s settled until the next election . In Canada and Britain these coalition governments are pretty weak . Even if you hate whoever is in they have to be strong enough to govern .

    Again, I still don’t get Coalition politics . It’s bad enough with two parties at each other’s throats .

    Like

  8. Dan
    May 19, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    I plan to vote for a third party candidate myself, someone to the left of Obama (and yes, there is a vast territory to his left) preferably. I say that because I live in CA and think that it is probably “safe” for him. I would like to vote with both hands, not one holding my nose. I did vote for Reagan in ’84 not because I believed in him or his policies but because Mondale was like jelly and John Anderson, who I voted for in ’80, was not running.

    I have toyed with the idea of voting for Bloomberg if he ran. He seems very competent, even-handed and rich enough to shrug off the lures of Wall Street and Big Oil.

    Like

    • May 19, 2011 at 10:05 pm

      Hi Dan, thanks for the comments!

      Wow, sounds like we’re on the same level. Are you my doppelganger? I even had the same reasons for voting for Reagan in 84. Yes it’s out there, I voted for Reagan. I was young what can I say?

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

