Home > Politics, Sports > Champion drops Mendenhall over bin Laden tweets – NFL – Yahoo! Sports

Champion drops Mendenhall over bin Laden tweets – NFL – Yahoo! Sports

Champion drops Mendenhall over bin Laden tweets – NFL – Yahoo! Sports.

Seriously Champion? I suppose it is your right to drop an athlete who doesn’t support your views, but it’s a pretty fucked up ideology if you ask me. It’s my right not to buy your merchandise. It’s also my right to tell you to go fuck yourselves, you fascist pricks.

  1. May 7, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    Hat

    Maybe this is an example of what the person who pays you wants. 😉

    Like

  2. Alan Scott
    May 8, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    tin foil hat,

    Did you bother to read what Mendenhall wrote ?

    Like

    • May 9, 2011 at 9:18 am

      I did read them. While he expressed unpopular opinions, he did express views that a lot of people share.If Champion wants to fire him over a few tweets, so be it. As consumers we have every right not to buy there gear because of their actions or ideology.

      On Sun May 8th, 2011 6:29 PM EDT

      Like

  3. Alan Scott
    May 9, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Beneath The Tin Foil Hat ,

    I’m guessing that if you don’t believe his views, you are very sympathetic to them . Otherwise you wouldn’t be so inflamed at Champion . I am not sympathetic at all to Mendenhall’s ideas so it is easier for me to remain detached. For the sake of argument, what if I thought he was totally right . I would still support Champion’s right to fire him .

    You and I have more right to free speech than Mendenhall. They hired him to represent their products. Once you do that , anything you do that brings bad publicity, tarnishes the value of your employer’s products . Look at how many companies dropped Tiger Woods . It is the same thing .

    Like

    • May 9, 2011 at 7:49 pm

      Actually, I would be angry with Champion even if he did express view points that I would be vehemently opposed to. I understand that when an athlete signs with a company like Champion that they become a face for their product and are held to stricter standards. I get that.

      However, we’re talking about a few tweets that were not even that inflammatory. It’s not like he took out a billboard that reads “America sucks for celebrating bin Laden’s death.” I know that is an extreme example, but I just don’t feel as if the punishment fit the crime in Mendenhall’s case. In fact,I’m sure that many athletes have said some crazier stuff in their day, and did not lose their endorsements.

      So yeah, maybe I over reacted, but Champion did too.

      Like

  4. Alan Scott
    May 10, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    Beneath The Tin Foil Hat ,

    I agree that Champion over reacted . But I believe Mendenhall’s meaning was clear . I remember others who said things that were ambiguous and were roasted for it . I am speaking of anyone who ever said anything that could be interpreted or misinterpreted as racial . God forbid you do that . At least Mendenhall can still make a living in his chosen field .

    Like

    • May 10, 2011 at 6:46 pm

      I have to agree with you there. There is definitely not much rhyme nor reason to people with very public profiles can do or say. Mendenhall gets dropped for a few tweets while Charles Barkley can get away with throwing someone through a plate class window, or Bill Maher can get away with saying the most racist of comments because he’s a liberal comedian/political pundit. It’s a very slippery slope indeed.

      Damn Alan, I think we just found a middle ground on something. I better call down to hell to see if it’s snowing 😉

      Thanks for the debate!

      David Curtis Follow me at https://tinfoilhatman45.wordpress.com/

      Like

  1. May 8, 2011 at 10:59 am

Leave a Reply

