Home > In the News > Martin Luther King Jr Understood, Why Can’t The Rest of Us?

Martin Luther King Jr Understood, Why Can’t The Rest of Us?

3. Martin Luther King, Jr., a civil rights act...

Image via Wikipedia

A Facebook friend posted this as her status today. Truer words never spoken.
“I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” -Martin Luther King, Jr.
  1. May 2, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    I was about 14-15? years old when he was shot. I remember thinking who is this guy that everyone was making such a fuss over? Never gave it much thought after that except I would hear quotes of his every now and then or see something on Discovery Channel and think hmm…

    Some years later I understand how important his message really was and still is.
    You see, being in that age bracket, the schools I attended never mentioned who he was or what he stood for. I think today his words are in the text books? Maybe I ought to buy a book on him. Any suggestions anyone? Better late than never..

    Like

    • May 3, 2011 at 7:38 am

      LOL, I was three. I haven’t really gotten to study him up close until I enrolled in college 2 years ago.

      Like

  2. May 2, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    Just to follow the replies. Forgot to check the dang Notify me button.

    Like

  3. ojmo
    May 3, 2011 at 12:05 am

    People were celebrating like their team won the Superbowl. Our time might be better spent reflecting on who we are as a people and where we want to go as a nation.

    Like

    • May 3, 2011 at 7:35 am

      It may be. I did some digging on my own, and this is the closest I could come to it: “Returning violence for violence multiplies violence, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars… Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”

      It’s still a great quote, fake or not. I think a lot of people feel that way.

      Like

  4. May 3, 2011 at 8:20 am

    I was sleeping when the announcement came, so it was news to be in the morning. I found the street celebrations puzzling … and still do. On the other hand, I was NOT troubled by the reaction of fans at the Mets-Phillies game. I kept thinking, “How would I have reacted if I was at the game?” After all, a crowd is already gathered. Nonetheless, I remained bothered by the rushing-to-the-street celebrations,

    Like

    • May 3, 2011 at 8:57 am

      I’m surprised by the amount of people who feel the way we do. Considering all the nationalist celebration in the streets, along with all the patriotic chest thumping by broadcasters, you would think that few people would deem this behavior inappropriate.

      That doesn’t seem to be the case though. There may be hope for us yet 🙂

      Like

  5. May 3, 2011 at 9:11 am

    There was no need for the people rushing out into the streets as if the Nationals won the World Series. Flag waving, wrapping themselves in the flag, and chanting USA, dosen’t do it for me.

    Like

  1. May 3, 2011 at 1:33 am
  2. June 5, 2011 at 10:55 am

Leave a Reply

