Home > Sports > It’s Draft Night, And Boy Am I Hyped!

It’s Draft Night, And Boy Am I Hyped!

Photo of Washington Huskies quarterback Jake L...

Image via Wikipedia

One of my favorite times of the year is upon us. Tonight marks the opening of the NFL draft. I used to religiously watch the first few rounds of the draft acting like a kid on Christmas day.

Every round brings a new pick for my favorite teams, the Steelers and the Bengals (odd, I know) and each pick is like unwrapping a new gift under the tree. Afterward, I like to spend days analyzing each pick, and projecting how they fit in each team’s plan. I’m a football geek, what can I say?

This is what I would like to see in this year’s draft for my teams: For the Steelers, they should take OL Mike Pouncey from Florida if he’s still available, then focus on the defense the rest of the draft. The secondary and defensive line both need some speed and youth, but they need to address the offensive line in the first round.

For the Bengals, well, they need a lot of help as usual. They need a QB, wide receiver, offensive line help, and defensive back help. I would like to see them draft beastly wide receiver A.J. Green in the first, then a QB such as Jake Locker or Andy Dalton in the second round. After that, it should be all offensive line and defensive backs.

However,owner Mike Brown has a hard on for big name quarter backs, so my money is on Cam Newton or Blaine Gabbert in the first.

Who’s your favorite team? Who would you like them to take? I love to talk football! Discuss! 🙂

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

  1. carvingoutavoice
    April 28, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    Oh my… I know where I’ll find you when I get home tonight; and it won’t be taking your history exam! LOL. That’s OK. You can give me a play by play!

    Like

    • April 28, 2011 at 3:27 pm

      LOL, I may take a few peeks or have it on while I’m working. However, I will be keeping my nose to the historical grindstone. I really hope our boys manage to get Pouncey; what a force he and his brother would be!

      Like

  2. May 1, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Enjoy the thrill, my friend!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

