Home > Enough about me. > Is an Online Education Right for You? It is For Me!

Is an Online Education Right for You? It is For Me!

Hands collaborating in co-writing or co-editin...

Image via Wikipedia

My partner over at Carving Out a Voice currently has an article posted titled Is an Online Education Right for You?.

In the article she touches on her personal experiences with not only online classes that she took to further herself in her former job, but her experiences in getting her MFA in creative writing as well. In addition she discusses the pros and cons of an online education versus an education at a traditional university, as well as the challenges of choosing an online university that will provide a challenging and truly educational experience.

 

As I was reading the article, I began to think about my own online experience. 3 years ago I decided it was time to go back to college, and become the first in my family to earn a degree. I have a full time job which occupies 40 to 50 hours a week, so I was enticed by the flexibility that an online education has to offer. I first enrolled in an online university that offered an associate’s degree in business thinking that this two year degree may help me further my career in the transportation industry in which I currently work. However after the first few classes, I realized that the curriculum was in no way challenging, and after discussing it with my partner decided to transfer to the college where she was earning her masters.

 

Not only did I change universities, I changed my degree as well. I decided that with my almost fanatic love of history, it would be beneficial for me to pursue a Bachelor’s degree in history. When I graduate, I plan on going to graduate school, possibly to a traditional university to enhance my advanced education experience. Once I’m finished, I hope to become a history teacher at either a high school or university. Hell, I may even write a book or two based on historical events. If I do end up writing a book, you can count on the fact that it would include the type of analysis that only my in your face perspective can provide.

 

The difference between my current university and my former university was quite a shock at first. While I was able to maintain an A average at the former college with little to no effort, I now must work my ass off to maintain the same GPA. I love the fact that I am challenged by the work load, and I feel as if I am actually learning something. When I earn my degree, I will accept it proudly, because I worked my ass off for it. This would not have been the case if I continued to study at the former school.

 

No matter what your age or level of education, if you want to return to school and online education may be just the ticket for you. As I mentioned previously, you have a somewhat flexible class schedule in regards to your studies, and you can complete your education from the comfort of your own home. However, online education requires more discipline than a traditional university in my opinion, because you do not have an instructor looking over your shoulder to supervise. You do indeed get out of this what you put into it. Furthermore, if you do enroll and find the classes ridiculously easy, remember that you do have other choices, and you can transfer to another college in search of something more challenging. Most credits earned are transferrable to traditional universities as well. In fact, there are more traditional colleges than ever who offer the opportunity of an online education.

 

Online education no longer carries the stigma that it once did. It can be challenging and rewarding. Online degrees are starting to become the norm rather than the exception, and prospective employers are recognizing the legitimacy of such an education. If you choose to go this route, make sure you research the schools you’re interested in, so that you can find a program that’s right for you. You won’t be sorry you did; I know I’m not.

  1. March 21, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    History buff? VERY nice.
    Any favorite topics/periods?

    Like

    • March 21, 2011 at 7:33 pm

      I would say my favorite topic/time period is American History, 17th century to present. I love to examine the events that have occurred in our 500 plus years in North America in order to get a better understanding of who and what we are as a nation. If you go back an look at some of my posts concerning history, you will find accounting of events and people, along with my perspective as to how they relate to our current circumstances.

      In my opinion, our current text books and curriculum teach history with a very distinct red, white, and blue hue. I would dearly love to get into the teaching profession and allow my students to learn about our history and form their own opinions without the patriotic bias that comes with it now.

      Thanks for peeking beneath the hat, and for subscribing 🙂

      Like

  2. March 22, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    History is indeed at times very politicized – especially as part of nation-building efforts and identity politics. One could say that things have to be simplified into coherent small narratives so kids can understand and remember, but it’s not without its problems down the road. This whole “MY america” stuff is often very contentious points of view.

    Anyways,
    I’ll browse some old posts – and keep track from now.
    I had a huge meal of founding fathers and post-wwII presidents last year – great reads. And I do believe there will a somewhat significant and disruptive change in American History, probably right about now. Broken economy, corporate dominance/hegemony and Eurasia changing being driving forces. And demographics of course.

    Like

  3. March 25, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    Congrats for pursuing your passion, i.e. history. Online ed seems like a doable option for working people like yourself. My daughter might choose to go that route in getting a college degree, while dancing. But as you say, it’s not necessarily the easier option.

    I’ll check out your partner’s post re online ed.

    thanks for sharing valuable info…hugmamma. 🙂

    Like

    • March 25, 2011 at 9:58 pm

      It can be tough, because it’s very fast paced. I also miss the face to face interaction; that’s why I plan on getting my masters at a traditional university. I hope your daughter does go after that degree one way or the other. I feel like its enriched my life to the umpteenth degree!

      Like

  1. March 21, 2011 at 11:45 am
  2. March 21, 2011 at 4:47 pm

Leave a Reply

