Home > The Environment. > Gone Fishing: From my Front Porch? Update on The Rising Ohio River

Gone Fishing: From my Front Porch? Update on The Rising Ohio River

The Ohio River is almost to 52 feet now which is flood level. By 55 feet the river will probably cover our street, and by 60 the water is probably in our basement or worse. We don’t plan on waiting that long. With the river projected to be 56 feet by Monday, we’re planning on spending tonight packing and moving whatever we can carry to the second floor of the house. We plan to be in a hotel on higher ground before the weekend. We’re going to be pretty busy, so blogging may be sporadic. Wish us luck, and I’ll update when I can….

By the way, the groundhog living in the back yard is on its own. Sorry buddy…

  1. March 9, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    Wow! Good luck, Tin Foil. If it’s at all possible for damage to be avoided, I wish that for you and your partner.

    Can gophers swim? 😉

    Like

  2. March 9, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Thanks. The river has overflowed its banks and its creeping our way. We’re ready to go but we’re not bailing as of yet. I don’t know of ground hogs can swim but I think they can climb trees. The hotel we picked out will take our cats but not the ground hog. I’m looking into renting him a little house boat 😉

    Like

    • March 9, 2011 at 7:52 pm

      If you get a chance, I’d love to see photos. The Ohio River is HUGE anyway. I can’t imagine swollen banks.

      I did see a flood at the convergence near Cairo a several years ago. Very impressive show by Mother Nature.

      Like

  3. March 9, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    I don’t have pics yet except for one a previous post. I did find this though:

    Like

  1. March 10, 2011 at 7:23 am
  2. March 10, 2011 at 9:32 am

Leave a Reply

